Extreme Nature Series- Sky and Trees

Marisa D. Aceves. After The Rain: Refuge In A Parking Lot Tree. Feel free to check out more of my work at acevesart.com

The rain had lifted. Streaks of grey clouds covered the suburban landscape as a flock of birds sat patiently in a large parking lot tree. A soft halo of light crowned the natural specimen in a temporary glory. I lifted my new LG G3  smart phone to the above scene described and gently tapped the camera icon. The phone made a triumphant popping sound as the scene was captured. Some added filters, saturation and mild sharpening later, the desired mood was set; the photo was complete.

It was a friday afternoon and Mom and I had settled on the idea of visiting our favorite Wing Stop restaurant. She decided to stop for money on the way, so we visited our local H.E.B. grocery store. When we pulled into the parking lot, I spotted the tree with its cargo. I knew I had to stay behind while she went to the ATM. This was a chance to use my new phone. I must report that I was impressed with everything the camera on this phone has to offer. It’s a smart buy, light weight, user friendly and has an excellent camera with a variety of filters and effects. For all you on-the-go camera enthusiasts, if you forget your DSLR or subcompact at home, the LG G3 is an excellent alternative.

Leave a Reply

