Loofa ]ellyfish 1 copy 2 small

Marisa D. Aceves. Jellyfish 1. digital photography. acevesart.com 

Soft perforated waves of fabric twist and turn as they gracefully emerge from the silent darkness that envelops them. Although this peculiar breed of creature can’t be found  in any of the vast bodies of water that populate the planet, it reminds us of the structure of life we might experience if we visited the oceans depths. High-contrast monochromatic treatment of this simple, widely used subject helps to enhance the illusion that we are somehow included in this rare discovery.

Earlier this week, I was busy looking for objects to photograph. I stumbled upon this object hanging out in the my bathroom with the towels, soaps, body washes, and countless styling tools.  At first I didn’t want to disturb it, especially since it’s undramatic, vanilla beige didn’t initially attract me.  However, I quickly changed my mind as I noticed the objects intriguing texture.  Since color was obviously not going to be the star of this photo, I chose to focus on line, shape and form. The decision to portray this object with black and white photography gives it a timeless, elegant feel.

Leave a Reply

