Ordinary Object That Looks Like A Minimalist Painting

Marisa D. Aceves. Kitchen Transmission Series: I Can Feel Rhythm. Digital Photo. 2017.

*To view more of my work, please visit acevesart.com

Rising early to meet the light

Bands of beauty

Rhythmic delight

 

In this new series, Kitchen Transmissions, I decided to use objects you might find in your kitchen to create work that is a bright, bold play on light and movement. When I was a child, my autism made a trip to the mall or even to a neighbors house intolerable. Loud sounds, colors, and rapid movement in different areas of our home would make me panic. I would run to find a ‘safe spot’ to hide and destress. It wasn’t until I entered my college years that I finally made an attempt to dampen my senses and lessen my anxiety with earplugs or shades. While past experiences with sensory overstimulation  caused me considerable grief, I wanted to get rid of the negative connotation commonly associated with these unpleasant experiences. In response to this, I created this body of work that simulates the rapid movement coupled with the bright, rich colors I experienced during these episodes. Instead of the fear and confusion that I felt, I wanted the viewer to experience energy, and a sense of renewal. Even the worst experiences can be used to positively to help others heal and grow in their creative journey.

This coming week, I encourage you to take your challenges and turn them into strengths.

 

 

Leave a Reply

