Chroma Blast-Curl copy 4 WATERMARK

Marisa D. Aceves. Chroma Blast: Curl. digital photography.

To view more of my work, please visit acevesart.com

Fire bursts forth from the center. Translucent fingers twist toward the light. The gathering of local colors has begun.

I finally settled on this photo after taking many shots of similar objects.  I’m a bit obsessive about my lighting.  In one shoot I’ll move the light source around the object trying to see which effect will best illustrate what I’m trying to say. Sometimes this whole process can get a bit frustrating, but as far as I see it, it is altogether necessary. I chose this particular object because it looked like crystalline lava or a chunk of amber when photographed.  This particular object was part of a gift set that one of my cousins gave me. I’d like to think it has too purposes now; one as a reminder that a family member is there for you and another as a completely new abstract artwork.

M

Leave a Reply

