Obsidian Rhythm-Composition 10

Marisa D. Aceves. Obsidian Rhythm – Composition 10. digital photography

Feel free to check out more of my work at acevesart.com

As I gingerly opened my bathroom drawers, I noticed the plethora of specialized brushes, makeup wrappers, hair picks and other beauty paraphernalia.  The small drawers could barely hold years of accumulated styling tools.  I knew instantly that I had to engage in a little activity that none of us like to admit that we have to do, spring cleaning. Then, they jumped out at me.  They were small, black and had interesting ridges that were easy to notice when the light moved across their narrow surface. After taking several pictures with my phone camera, I realized that the results reminded me of many examples of 60’s Op art that I’d seen in heavy, college art books. The neutral black of the objects made it even easier to focus on the pronounced rhythms the lines formed.

It’s not always apparent which objects I should photograph. Sometimes I have to wait patiently until something speaks to me; then I have a visual conversation with the object I’ve chosen. In this particular case, the objects were small and thin. It took several to form the surface designs that would give this picture it’s defining quality.

Leave a Reply

