The Positives Of Going Negative: Exploring Photo Negatives And Their Endless Possibilities

Several months ago, I was working on a series of photographs of regular household objects that utilized the negative mode on my small camera phone. Photo negatives force us to look at shape and form in a completely different light. This is what makes them a positive source for creativity and study. As I have discussed before in one of my previous posts, I like to use the camera in my phone because it is lightweight, compact, and easily accessible. The artwork featured above entitled “Spectrum 1”, is a photograph taken using this negative mode. In addition, I used light photo editing to enhance its’ color and clarity. The results were unexpected, but strangely beautiful and otherworldly. I decided to continue with this series as it offers yet another view of the overlooked objects that surround me on a daily basis. In my time on the internet, I have had the rare privilege of viewing the most extraordinary photographs. I have gathered inspiration from photographs that employed photoshopping software and ones that did not. There are photographers that prefer a pure, straightforward approach to the photograph, continuously refining their craft through careful and considerate study. Others dive head on into the wonderful world of digital photoshopping softwares, always in search of new and innovative ways to expand their ever growing artistic vision. I personally believe there is a place for both types of photography. I appreciate them equally. Pure straight forward photos (black and white and color) are captivating and unforgettable. Works that involve photoshopping software in their production are wildly creative and often original in their approach to color, shape and form. While their is always room for refinement of our technical skills both with and without the use of software, it is always nice to know that these tools are readily available.
If you would like to share your thoughts on this subject, I would love to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

