The Duration of a Painting: A Slow Progression, A Fast Progression

Sometime in our artistic development, many of us are conned into believing that all painting styles and painting processes will inevitably lend themselves to quick completion. However, in my experience, this is not the case. In the past I have worked on paintings that I have completed within a short time span (like this particular painting in enamels entitled “Summit”), while others may take weeks or even months to finish. While the slow development of the series of paintings that I am currently working on has tried my patience on more than one occasion, I am determined to slowly plod my way through the series with the faith that eventually each piece will come to fruition. In order to come up with a solution that would somehow satisfy my growing sense of urgency while working in a slow, time consuming painting style, I decided to lay my paintings out assembly line. I am working on five paintings at once in order to both kill the monotony of a slow, painstaking process, and to keep the work consistent within the series. This is simply how I have chosen to attack this particular problem and still maintain interest in my work and its’ overall theme.
Please feel free to share your experiences with a similar situation! All comments are greatly appreciated, as I strongly feel that we can help to encourage one another in our artistic growth.

3 thoughts on “The Duration of a Painting: A Slow Progression, A Fast Progression

  1. I thing you approach is great. Why all have to find our way into the creative flow – and sometimes it’s slow and sometimes is fast. I love the painting following this post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

