Blue Square

As I was looking for some inspiration for my new geometric series of paintings, I remembered a digital photograph that I had taken of a section of an inexpensive, plastic container that I use for storage. This was just an ordinary container, (even forgettable), until in one unexpected moment, it shared it’s secret beauty, it’s structure and the color blue! The end result of the photograph brought back memories of geometric, color field paintings that I had read about in art history when I was in college. I have always enjoyed color, but I didn’t truly begin to understand it’s effects on people until I began to exhibit my work. Occasionally people in my family would tell me about the colors that they loved and the color combinations that they had a profound aversion to. Recently, my sister told me that blue was one of the most popular colors. For some reason, people love blue. Perhaps blue reminds them of the ocean or the sky. It has both a calming and meditative effect often associated with both relaxation and contemplation. So for all of the people that love blue, here is a nice blue post to brighten your day with color. Hopefully, I will be able to translate my love of color and structure to a series of paintings as well. As they say, I will keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

