Abstract Paintings: Satellite Painting Series: Storm 1

I have had the privilege of experimenting with photography for the past couple of years; photography influences all of my work. Yet I can clearly remember a time when this was not the case. Although I received a BFA concentration in painting, I longed to express myself in other media as well. The solution to this problem was clear, I become a multimedia artist. Since I have no desire to stop painting, I have decided to revisit old painting series and create new ones. My paintings, like my photography, use everyday objects as their subject matter and source of inspiration. My multimedia paintings are separated into three groups:

Texture Series: Works in a series that use everyday objects as a form of surface texture in the creation of a painting (the featured painting, Storm 1 is an example).

Impression Series: Works in a series that use everyday objects to create deep impressions in the surface of the paint. This creates an almost sculptural feel to the paintings.

Simulation Series: Works that use a picture of an everyday object taken out of context as source material for a fairly realistic simulation of that picture.

The painting which I have chosen to share, Storm 1 was inspired by satellite pictures taken from above the earth. This painting, like others in the same Satellite Painting Series, was created before the satellite digital photography series and has since been exhibited in a solo show.

If you would like to see the rest of the series, check out my website at http://www.acevesart.com.

Leave a Reply

